Southern California Family Law Blog

The case of H.H. v. A.M. is about two separated parents fighting for custody of their child and determining a proper visiting schedule. The court gave the mother sole custody but allowed the visiting schedule to be joint by giving the father visiting time Tuesday through Friday. This meant the child lived with each parent approximately half the time and therefore undermined the sole custody awarded to the mother. The issue upon appeal from the mother was whether the trial court made an error by allowing the father, who was found to be domestically violent towards the mother, to spend an equal amount of time with their child after awarding the mother sole custody.

The court relied on California Family Code section 3044 to determine whether it wassad child because her parents lost custody of her proper to allow the father equal visiting time even when the mother had been awarded sole custody of their child. Family Code 3044 is often used in cases where one of the parties seeking custody has committed domestic violence within the previous five years against the other party seeking custody. Section 3044 allows the judge to give custody to a person who has a domestic violation conviction or decision against them only if the judge believes that it is in the child’s best interest to do so. This means that it is possible for a person who has committed domestic violence to be awarded custody of the child as long as the majority of the factors weigh in their favor. 

8 Things that go into determining the fitness of a parent

Here are the 8 things that the judge must consider when determining this decision: 

 

  • What is in the child’s best interest?
  • Has the person committed any other domestic violence?
  • Has the person followed all the terms and conditions of any restraining order?
  • Has the person finished a 1-year batterer intervention program?
  • Has the person finished an alcohol or drug program if ordered by the judge?
  • Has the person finished a parenting class, if ordered by the judge?
  • If on probation or parole, has the person followed all terms of probation or parole?
  • Does the person still have a firearm or ammunition, in violation of a restraining order?  

The problem that occurred, in this case, was that the trial court judge did not go through this 8-factor test when determining the outcome of this case. The court should have weighed the 8 factors in order to determine what was in the child’s best interest and there would have to be a determination that the father proved by a preponderance of the evidence that an award of custody to him would be in the child’s best interest. 

Contact an Experienced Wallin & Klarich Child Custody Attorney Today

If you are fighting for legal custody of your child and have a domestic violence conviction, do not assume you will lose custody. As you can see there is still a chance for you to win your case and gain sole or joint custody of your child. However, the odds are usually stacked against you, which is why it is critical that you get the best legal help possible. Wallin & Klarich has devoted over 40 years to successfully defending clients who are fighting for custody of their children. We know all the laws and statutes relevant to child custody cases and know the best defenses to help you obtain the best possible result in your case.  

 

With offices in Orange County, Riverside, San Bernardino, Victorville, West Covina, Torrance, Los Angeles, and San Diego, there is an experienced Wallin & Klarich child custody lawyer available near you who can aggressively fight for you to gain custody of your children and do all we can to keep you from losing your children. 

 

Please contact us at (877) 4-NO-JAIL or (714)587-4068 for a free phone consultation. We will be there when you call. 

domestic violence in the household

How Do Domestic Violence Charges Get Dropped (PC 273.5)?

If you have been charged with domestic violence in California, you may be facing severe punishment. Corporal Injury on a spouse or cohabitant (California Penal Code Section 273.5) is punishable as a felony by up to four years in state prison and a $6,000 fine. If you are charged with a domestic violence crime, the first step you should take is to retain an attor… Continue Reading.......
Man put in handcuffs after being arrested for domestic violence

5 Steps You Need To Immediately Take If You Are Accused of Domestic Violence

From the moment you are arrested for domestic violence, every choice you make has the potential to influence the outcome of your case. It is important that you act quickly and take the following steps so you can have the best possible chance to successfully defend yourself against these serious criminal charges.

1. Do Not Resist Arrest

If you are being arrest… Continue Reading.......
Mother loses twins in child dependency case by social worker

How Wallin & Klarich Got Their Client Her 2 Children Back From Social Workers

How Wallin & Klarich Got Their Client Her 2 Children Back From Social Workers

Our client was a highly successful business woman who was a single mom. She has 2 twin little girls who are just around 2 years old. While playing, one of her girls fell off of the mother’s bed and it resulted in visible bruising. Our client, who is a great mom, was concerned when her cContinue Reading.......
Kid in house domestic violence Wallin & Klarich family law

What Happens If The Police Come To Your House Due To An Allegation Of Domestic Violence? 

What Happens If The Police Come To Your House Due To An Allegation Of Domestic Violence? 

Unfortunately, when people live or spend a lot of time together, sometimes situations can become hostile and even aggressive. In the state of California, police are dispatched to over 15,000 domestic violence calls every year.   The state of California defines domestContinue Reading.......
Family hanging out with children

What You Need To Do and Say When Your Kids Are Taken Away By Social Workers

What You Need To Do and Say When Your Kids Are Taken Away By Social Workers

Here is a list of things you may need to do in the event that your children are taken by social workers: 
  1. Tell the social worker how much you love your kids. 
  1. Tell the social worker that you will do anything necessary to regain custody of your children. 
  1. Where appropriate, after speaking to a
Continue Reading.......
Family Law Lawyers Riverside County Wallin & Klarich Criminal Defense Attorneys

 Parents Who Make Mistakes Can Improve and Regain Custody of Their Children in Dependency Court

Parents Who Make Mistakes Can Improve and Regain Custody of Their Children in Dependency Court

When a parent does something that results in social workers knocking on their door, it often leads to their children being taken away by the state. This mistake can be anything from spanking their child with a belt to getting into a fight with their significant otheContinue Reading.......
Child Dependency Attorney Wallin & Klarich Orange County

SOMETIMES YOU CAN WIN YOUR KIDS BACK IN DEPENDENCY COURT             

SOMETIMES YOU CAN WIN YOUR KIDS BACK IN DEPENDENCY COURT                    

We recently concluded a case where our client and his wife had a petition filed against them in child dependency court in Los Angeles County. There was an altercation between our client and his teenage daughter that resulted in criminal charges being filed against my client. During the pendency of the Continue Reading.......
Wallin & Klarich Restraining Order Child Dependency Defense Attorney Orange County

WHAT TO DO IF YOU ARE IN NEED OF AN EMERGENCY PROTECTIVE ORDER? 

If you are in immediate danger before the court has time to intervene, ask a law enforcement officer to ask for an Emergency Protective Order (EPO) from a Judge; this is a temporary protective order for 7 calendar days and can serve as protection from your abuser until a more permanent restraining order is filed.    An EPO may include personal conduct restContinue Reading.......
Social Worker Child Dependency Wallin & Klarich Child Dependency Defense Attorney

What You Say to a Social Worker Could Lead to Your Child Being Taken Away From You

In many cases, a social worker will come to your home to ask you questions. The social worker may have received a report that your child was physically abused or molested by your spouse or significant other or by anyone living in your home with you. What you say to the social worker in response to hearing that information could lead to your custody of your child beContinue Reading.......